Breakups Just Got a Whole Lot Easier Thanks to Facebook
Breaking up is hard enough without having to worry about the social media fallout. In great news, Facebook has announced a new feature designed to take the awkwardness out of a breakup. The handy option allows users to decide how often they see their ex's photos and limit what the other person can see, without having to block or unfriend them. You'll also have the option to decide which shared memories are saved on Facebook, so you can remove yourself from any awkward shots you'd rather erase from your timeline (if only we could do the same in real life). Follow the guide below to make your breakup that little bit easier on Facebook.
- Step one: Change your relationship status. Yes, it's awkward and uncomfortable, and for some, the final step to saying farewell to your relationship, but changing your relationship status post-breakup is necessary. Afterward, you'll be able to access Facebook's new feature.
- Step two: Limit how often you see your ex's posts. An option will appear to see less of your ex. You can choose to keep your options as they are or "Limit where you see Taylor," which removes your ex from your newsfeed and won't prompt you to tag him in any photos.
- Step three: Choose what your ex can see about you. Don't want your ex to see those photos of you going out post-breakup? Don't worry. Facebook's new feature lets you limit what he can see, including status updates, photos, and videos. The only thing he'll be able to take a peek at are posts you make on mutual friend's walls.
- Step four: Untag memories. When you're in the midst of a tough breakup, the last thing you want to see is a happy photo from your anniversary last year. Scroll through your photographs and choose to untag any shots you'd rather forget.
What's your approach to braving a breakup on social media? Share your advice in the comments below.